Samoa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Samoa)
Jump to: navigation, search

Pacific Gotoarrow.png Samoa

Samoa Wiki Topics
Samoa flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Samoa Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Samoa ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

This page is about the Independent State of Samoa. For the U.S. territory see American Samoa.

Country Information

Samoa in an island archipelago country in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are American Samoa, Tokelau, Wallis and Futuna, Tonga, and Fiji. It was formerly known as Western Samoa and was a colony of Germany and New Zealand. The official languages are Samoan and English.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Samoa Research

Links to articles on getting started with Samoa research.

Samoa Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Samoa research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Samoa Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Samoa.

Samoa.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Samoa. Click on a district below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

  • A'ana
  • Aiga-i-le-Tai
  • Atua
  • Fa'asaleleaga
  • Gaga'emauga
  • Gagaifomauga
  • Palauli
  • Satupa'itea
  • Tuamasaga
  • Va'a-o-Fonoti
  • Vaisigano

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Samoa," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samoa, accessed 22 April 2016.