Sampford Courtenay, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Sampford Courtenay, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sampford Courtenay, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Okehampton|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1614|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Totnes|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
SAMPFORD-COURTENAY (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Oakhampton, hundred of Black Torrington, Black Torrington and Shebbear, and N. divisions of Devon, 5¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Oakhampton. At Brightley was a monastery of Cistercians, founded in 1136 by Richard Fitz-Baldwin de Brioniis, Baron of Oakhampton.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241327.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Sampford Courtenay on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp.11-15. Date accessed: 31 October 2013.