San Joaquin County, California Genealogy
|San Joaquin County, California|
Location in the state of California
Location of California in the U.S.
|Founded||February 18, 1850|
|Address|| San Joaquin County Courthouse|
24 S Hunter St #304
PO Box 1968
Stockton, CA 95201
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 Historical Facts
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 6 Bible Records
- 7 Biography
- 8 Cemeteries
- 9 Census
- 10 Church History and Records
- 11 Court Records
- 12 Crime and Criminals
- 13 Directories
- 14 Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
- 15 Gazetteers
- 16 Genealogy
- 17 History
- 18 Maps
- 19 Migration
- 20 Military History and Records
- 21 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 22 Newspapers
- 23 Obituaries
- 24 Periodicals
- 25 Probate Records
- 26 Repositories
- 27 Societies
- 28 Taxation
- 29 Vital Records
- 30 Voting Registers
- 31 Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
- 32 Websites
- 33 References
San Joaquin County, California Record Dates
County Clerk has divorce, probate and court records from 1851
County Recorder has birth, marriage, death and land records
18 February 1850: San Joaquin was created as an original county. County seat: Stockton 
For animated maps illustrating California county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation California County Boundary Maps" (1850-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
The following web sites may have additional information on San Joaquin County cemeteries.
- Interment.net California cemetery records by County.
For tips on accessing San Joaquin County, California Genealogy census records online, see: California Census.
Church History and Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about California denominations, view the California Church Records wiki page.
Church records are usually found in the towns rather than on the county level.
LDS Ward and Branch Records
San Joaquin County Court Directory gives addresses, phone numbers, fax numbers and links to the courts websites and online resources..
Crime and Criminals
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Local histories are available for San Joaquin County, California Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section California Local Histories.
Google Books has some books about the history and people in San Joaquin County, California. Try various search terms, including the names of people. Books designated with "Full view" can be read online.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See California Land and Property for additional information about early California land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
For historical maps,search the following free sites:
- Maps-Historical-Sate of California, the Carlifornia government's site. Links to American Memory (Library of Congress), California Missions, and the State Library
- California Maps - HSU Library, also lists and links to gazetteers
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
Military History and Records
The California State Military Museum has a great deal of historical information and links to other military websites.
Ancestry.com has Records of California men in the War of the Rebellion, 1861 to 1867 ($)
Naturalization and Citizenship
Regiments. Service men in San Joaquin County, California Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in San Joaquin County, California Genealogy:
- - 1st Battalion, California Native Cavalry (Union), Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company B
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company D
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company I
- - 3rd Regiment, California Infantry (Union), Company K
One of the members at the Lodi California Family History Center has compiled an index of Lodi-area obituaries from the 1880s to the 2000s. The Lodi Public Library holds a copy of his work as well. An index exists for The Record (Stockton) if you ask the reference librarian at the Stockton-San Joaquin County Public Library. Neither index is available online at this time, and the papers themselves must be accessed via microfilm.
There may be some information relevant to the county in the California Digital Newspaper Collection, which has newspapers from 1848 through 1922. You can search by keyword, including names, and/or by date.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as San Joaquin County, California Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
The county clerk is usually the custodian of probate records. The records include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
You can obtain copies of the original probate records (such as wills and estate files) by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for California - San Joaquin - Probate records.
Online Probate Records
- 1782 – 1999 California Wills and Probate Records 1782-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1833 – 1991 California Probate Estate Files 1833-1991 at FamilySearch — images
Archives, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Lodi California Family History Center
- Manteca California Family History Center
- Stockton California Family History Center
- Tracy California Family History Center
California tax records complement land records and can supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page California Taxation.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the CDC Where to Write website for information on acquiring copies of these records. The State office has records since July 1905. For earlier records, contact the County Recorder. See also How to order California Vital Records
- 1850 - 1952 - California, County Marriages, 1850-1952 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1854 - 1885 - Western States Marriage Index.
- 1960 - 1985 - California Marriage Index, 1960-1985 at FamilySearch — index and images
Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries
San Joaquin County Historical Society
11793 N. Micke Grove Road, Box 21
Lodi CA 95241
San Joaquin Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 690243
Stockton, CA 95269-0243
Tracy Area Genealogical Society
1141 Adam Street
Tracy, CA 95376-3506
San Joaquin Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 4817
- San Joaquin County, CA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- California Genealogy Network Community on Google+
- California Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- San Joaquin County CAGenWeb
- USGenWeb Archives
- USGenWeb Archives backup site
- FamilySearch FamilySearch Catalog
- Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 62-75. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Joaquin County, California. Page 86 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “San Joaquin County, California Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/cal/sjoaquin/ 05/08/2017.
- Wikipedia contributors, "San Joaquin County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Joaquin_County,_California 05/08/2017.
- National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 5 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors, "California Trail" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/California_Trail (accessed 5 August 2012).