San Juan County, Colorado Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from San Juan County, Colorado)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Colorado
San Juan County


Guide to San Juan County, Colorado ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Silverton
Organized: 31 January 1876
Parent County(s): La Plata [1]
Neighboring Counties
Dolores  • Hinsdale  • La Plata  • Montezuma  • Ouray  • San Miguel
See County Maps
Courthouse
ColoradoSanJuanCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Colorado San Juan County.png
Adoption
This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

County Courthouse

San Juan County Courthouse
PO Box 466
Silverton, CO 81433-0466
Phone: 970.387.5671
San Juan County Website

County Treasurer has birth records from 1880 and death records from 1901;
County Clerk has marriage records from 1880, military records from 1941 and land records;
Clerk District court has divorce, probate and court records.[2]

San Juan County, Colorado Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901-1907 [3]*
1871 [3]*
1902-1907 [3]*
1876 [3]
1876
*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

  • Before 1861 the extreme east-central edge of this modern Colorado county on the east side of the Continental Divide was in New Mexico.
Look for pre-1861 records in New Mexico. For further explanation see Taos County.


Populated Places

The following are locations in San Juan County, Colorado:

Towns
Unincorporated communites
Ghost towns


History Timeline

Resources

Bible Records

Biographies

Business, Commerce, and Occupations

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of San Juan County, Colorado online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Colorado Cemeteries for more information

 

Census Records

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1880 1,087
1890 1,572 44.6%
1900 2,342 49.0%
1910 3,063 30.8%
1920 1,700 −44.5%
1930 1,935 13.8%
1940 1,439 −25.6%
1950 1,471 2.2%
1960 849 −42.3%
1970 831 −2.1%
1980 833 0.2%
1990 745 −10.6%
2000 558 −25.1%
2010 699 25.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing San Juan County, Colorado Genealogy census records online, see: Colorado Census.

  • 1860-1940 Colorado Census Records from 1860 to 1940 at FamilySearch.org — index/images

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page.

Court Records

Numerous records are available at Colorado Archives. To use this link scroll down the page to where it asks for Record Type. Click there and scroll down the list to the records you want and select. The next field asks for county. Select the county you want and then click on Search. You can narrow the search by adding the additional information it asks for.

Directories

Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

Funeral Homes

Genealogies

Guardianship

Land and Property Records

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for San Juan County, Colorado Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Cosanjuan.jpg

Migration

Military Records

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Colorado Newspapers Online

Colorado Newspaper Catalogs

  • U.S. Newspaper Directory, 1690-Present on Chronicling America - contains a list of all known newspapers and the dates they cover; once you locate a newspaper name, contact the local library to see if they have copies of the newspaper

For more information see Colorado Newspapers.

Obituaries

Other Records

Periodicals

Probate Records

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.


Online Records

School Records

Tax Records

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Place Search for the county.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [10]

Marriage

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [10]

Divorce

Research Facilities

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for San Juan County, Colorado Genealogy in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
1880-1939 Divorce Index
1883-1900 Mine Accidents, Non - fatal
1897-1920 Horseshoers
1936-1942 Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments
1966-1968 Vietnam Deaths

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries

Silverton Public Library
1117 Reese
Silverton, CO 81433
Telephone: 970-387-5770
Website

Museums

Societies

San Juan County Historical Society
1569 Greene Street
Silverton, CO 81433
Telephone: 970-387-5838
Website

Websites

  • FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records

Research Guides

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 101, San Juan County, Colorado. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 The Red Book, American State, County, and Town Sources. Edited by Alice Eichholz. (Ancestry, Provo; 3d ed, 2004.) Colorado article by Birdie Monk Holzclaw and Marsha Hoffman Rising. page 94.
  4. William Thorndale and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publ., 1987), 52. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  5. Brief County Histories (New Mexico) in RootsWeb (accessed 21 June 2012).
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopeida at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Colorado_Territory (accessed 19 June 2012).
  7. Adrian B. Ettlinger, AniMap 3.0 : with SiteFinder U.S. place name database (Alamo, Calif.: Gold Bug, 2008), Colorado 1861 map. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL CD-ROM no. 4903.
  8. Handybook, 97, Conejos County, Colorado, and 99, Guadalupe County, Colorado.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Guadalupe County, Colorado Territory" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guadalupe_County,_Colorado_Territory (accessed 23 June 2012).
  10. 10.0 10.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov