San Miguel County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png San Miguel County

Guide to San Miguel County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


San Miguel County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 22, 1846
County Seat Las Vegas
Courthouse
NewMexicoSanMiguelCourthouse.jpg
Address San Miguel County Courthouse
500 W National Street
Las Vegas, NM 87701
Phone: 505.425.9331
San Miguel County Website


Nm-san-miguel.png

County Information

San Miguel County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1888 1850 1887 1859

County Courthouse

San Miguel County Courthouse
500 W National Street
Las Vegas, NM 87701
Phone: 505.425.9331 

County Clerk has marriage records from 1880, probate records from 1939, and land records from 1800’s; Clerk of the District Court has divorce and court records from 1882.[1]

History

Parent County

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City.
  • 22 September 1846 - San Miguel (del Bado) County was created based on an old Mexican government partido  as one of seven original New Mexico counties under General Stephen W. Kearny's Kearny Code of laws for the occupied Mexican territory.[2] It formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended in 1848 with the signing of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.

Description

The county seat is Las Vegas.[3] San Miguel County was formed in January 9, 1852.[4]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [8]

City
  • Las Vegas (county seat)
Village
  • Pecos
  • El Cerrito
Census-designated places
  • Conchas Dam
  • Ribera
  • Rowe
  • San Jose
  • Sena
  • Villanueva
Other communities
  • Bernal
  • Garita
  • Holy Ghost
  • Ilfeld
  • Montezuma
  • North San Ysidro
  • Sapello
  • Serafina
  • South San Ysidro
  • Tererro
  • Trementina
  • Rociada
  • Valles de San Geronimo
Ghost town
  • Las Ruedas

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 22,930
1920 22,867 −0.3%
1930 23,636 3.4%
1940 27,910 18.1%
1950 26,512 −5.0%
1960 23,468 −11.5%
1970 21,951 −6.5%
1980 22,751 3.6%
1990 25,743 13.2%
2000 30,126 17.0%
2010 29,393 −2.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Parish registers (baptisms, marriages, and burials) are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[9]
San Antonio, Pecos, Online Parish Registers

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1726-1829 1726-1829 1699-1765 1699-1765
1727-1772
FS 1862-1904 1862-1904 1862-1904 1862-1904
1862-1904
FS
1904-1956

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for San Miguel County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Nmsanmiguel.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
Civil War Battle

The following Civil War battle was fought in San Miguel County.

Map showing Civil War battles in New Mexico. 
World War I
World War II

Newspapers


Probate

Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Births
Deaths
Marriages

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), De Baca County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 6” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/sanmiguel/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Miguel_County,_New_Mexico
  5. N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
  6. William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
  7. Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at http://www.nmgs.org/Graphics/nmcoun-orig.jpg (accessed 9 August 2011).
  8. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Miguel_County,_New_Mexico#Communities
  9. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 May 2016.
  10. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)