Sandal Magna, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Sandal Magna, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Sandal Magna, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||Wakefield|
|Parish registers: 1651|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
SANDALL, GREAT (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Wakefield, Lower division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Crigglestone, Sandall, Walton, and part of West Bretton, 2 miles(S. by E.) from Wakefield. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD. FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Online data content from parish registers of Sandal Magna exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SANDAL MAGNA PARISH (1539) Online Records|
|FS|| 1598-1843, 1906
|| 1539-1812, 1832-1837
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464241.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
This ancient parish was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1651.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 11-15. Date accessed: 22 April 2013. Date accessed: 21 October 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.
- 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.