Sandbach St Mary, Cheshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sandbach St Mary, Cheshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

History

Sandbach St Mary is the Ancient Parish of Sandbach, Cheshire and includes Arclid, Betchton, Blackden, Bradwall, Church Hulme, Cotton, Cranage, Goostrey cum Barnshaw, Hassall, Leese, Rudheath (part), Sandbach, Twemlow and Wheelock.

The Domesday Book records the presence of a priest and a church on the site of the present church. This was replaced by another church erected about the time of Henry VII. This church was built in sandstone which became badly weathered. The present church dates largely from the  rebuilding by Sir George Gilbert Scott in 1847–49. Much of the existing fabric was replaced and the remaining fabric was encased in new stone. The east end of the church was extended by some 40 feet (12 m) and the tower was rebuilt as a copy of the former tower. The Style is Perpendicular.The builders were Cooper & Son of Derby. The stone, which came from quarries in the Mow Cop area, was given by Sir Philip Grey Egerton M.P.Part of the west end had to be repaired in 1894–95 following a fire. A choir vestry by Austin and Paley was added in 1930.

Sandbach St Mary


Church Records

Parish registers for Sandbach, Cheshire, 1562-1959 The parish church is known as St. Mary's.
Cheshire Record Office reference: P56/1/1-3, P56/2/17, P56/3/1-8, P56/4/1-6, P56/6431/1-3, 5-9.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records(formerly  Record Search)

Parish register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, burials, 1562-1764. Marriages, 1562-1755. Baptisms, 1765-1821. BRITISH 1941901 Items 2 - 7
Baptisms, Jan. 1821-Apr. 1893. Banns, 1754-1812. Marriages, 1754-1830. BRITISH 1941902
Marriages, Mar. 1830-Oct. 1911. BRITISH 1941925
Burials, 1765-1894. BRITISH 1941926 Items 1 - 7
Baptisms, 1893-1944. Marriages, 1911-June 1919. BRITISH 2356820 Items 5 - 7
Marriages, April 1919-1959. VAULT BRITISH 2356821


Bishop's transcripts of Sandbach Parish, 1576-1864 Records are not in chronological order. Some years are missing.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Bishop’s Transcripts Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1576, 1586, 1593, 1597, 1600, 1604, 1607-1611, 1614-1615, 1617-1620, 1625-1630, 1633-1637, 1639-1640, 1660-1666, 1668-1676, 1679-1682, 1684-1685, 1689-1700. (some pages illegible). BRITISH
2068518 Items 4 - 5
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1703-1740, 1746-1760. BRITISH
1751910 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1741-1748, 1778-1780, 1782-1820. BRITISH
1751911
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1821-1834.  Marriages, 1836. BRITISH
1751912
Baptisms, 1837, 1839-1840. Burials, 1852. Baptisms, burials, 1838, 1841-1843, 1845-1864. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1844. BRITISH
1751913 Item 1
Baptisms, burials, 1836-1839.  Marriages, 1837.  Burials, 1841. BRITISH
1751914 Item 1

Poor Law Unions


Registration Districts

  • Congleton (1837–1937)
  • Crewe (1937–74)
  • Congleton and Crewe (1974–88)
  • South Cheshire (1988–98)
  • Cheshire East (post 1998)

registration events may be searched online at Cheshire BMD


Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford, pp. 290–293

Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven: Yale University Press, pp. 330–331, ISBN 0 300 09588 0

[[