Sandoval County, New Mexico Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sandoval County, New Mexico)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png New Mexico Gotoarrow.png Sandoval County

Guide to Sandoval County, New Mexico ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Sandoval County, New Mexico
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting New Mexico
Location of New Mexico in the U.S.
Facts
Founded 10 March, 1903
County Seat Bernalillo
Courthouse
NewMexicoSandovalCourthouse.jpg
Address Sandoval County Courthouse
711 Camino Del Pueblo
PO Box 40
Bernalillo, NM 87004
Phone: 505.867.2209
Sandoval County Website


Nm-sandoval.png

County Information

Sandoval County, New Mexico Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1926 1910 1926 1926

County Courthouse

Sandoval County Courthouse
711 Camino Del Pueblo; PO Box 40;
Bernalillo, NM 87004
Phone: 505.867.2209 

County Clerk has marriage, probate and land records.[1]

History

Parent County

  • Up until 1821New Spain controlled land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of early settlers may have been sent to an archives in Seville, Spain, or to archives in Mexico City.
  • From 1821 until 1846Mexico had jurisdiction over the land that later would become New Mexico and Arizona. Some records of this period may have been sent to archives in Mexico City. Starting in 1846 United States forces occupied New Mexico during the Mexican-American War.
  • 1848 -  Land that became Sandoval County formally became a part of the United States when the Mexican-American War ended with ratification of the Treaty of Guadalupe Hidalgo.
  • 1903--Sandoval County was created 10 March 1903 from Bernalillo County.[1]

Description

Sandoval County was founded 1903. The seat is Bernalillo.[2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

Sandoval County Courthouse had a Record loss in 1926.

Places/Localities

Populated Places [3]

City
  • Rio Rancho
Town
  • Bernalillo (county seat)
Villages
  • Corrales
  • Cuba
  • Jemez Springs
  • San Ysidro
Census-designated places
  • Algodones
  • Cochiti
  • Jemez Pueblo
  • La Jara
  • Pena Blanca
  • Placitas
  • Ponderosa
  • Pueblo of Sandia Village
  • Regina
  • San Felipe Pueblo
  • Santa Ana Pueblo
  • Santo Domingo Pueblo
  • Torreon
  • Zia Pueblo
Unincorporated community
  • Counselor

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NMGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NMGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
NM Cemetery Project
NM Interment
Billion Graves
See New Mexico Cemeteries for more information.

Specific Cemeteries

  • Algodones Cemetery
  • Bernalillo Cemetery
  • Cuba Presbyterian Cemetery
  • Guadalupe Cemetery
  • Jemez Springs Catholic Cemetery
  • La Bajada Cemetery
  • La Jara Cemetery
  • La Madera Cemetery
  • Our Lady of Sorrows Cemetery
  • Pena Blanca Cemetery
  • Placitas Cemetery
  • Ponderosa Cemetery
  • Regina Cemetery - About 1.5 miles south of Regina City on state route 96, at the end of Deer Ridge Rd
  • San Ysidro Cemetery
  • Sandoval Cemetery
  • Sile Cemetery
  • Tejon Cemetery
  • Vista Verde Memorial Park

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1910 8,579
1920 8,863 3.3%
1930 11,144 25.7%
1940 13,898 24.7%
1950 12,438 −10.5%
1960 14,201 14.2%
1970 17,492 23.2%
1980 34,799 98.9%
1990 63,319 82.0%
2000 89,908 42.0%
2010 131,561 46.3%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.

Catholic

Parish registers (baptisms, marriages, and burials) are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
Misión de San Felipe, San Felipe, Online Parish Registers

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1767-1829 1767-1829 1726-1814 1726-1814
1726-1860


Our Lady of the Assumption, Zia, Online Parish Registers

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1694-1772 1694-1772 1697-1771 1697-1771
1727-1772

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Sandoval County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.

Maps

Nmsandoval.jpg

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
World War I
World War II

Newspapers


Probate

Online Probate Records

Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.

See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.

The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.

Taxation

New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.

Vital Records

Births
Deaths
Marriages

A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:

New Mexico, County Death Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Societies and Libraries

Sandoval County Historical Society
PO Box 692
Bernalillo, NM, 87004
Telephone: 505-867-2755
E-mail:schsinfo@sandcohist.fatcow.com
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), De Baca County, New Mexico page 473, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/sandoval/ accessed 09/29/2016
  3. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sandoval_County,_New_Mexico#Communities
  4. FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 May 2016.