Sandviken parish, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sandviken parish, Sweden)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwedenGotoarrow.pngGävleborg County Gotoarrow.pngSandviken parish


Guide to Sandviken parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Back to Sweden

History

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

The name of the parish before 1935 was Högbo, there after known as Sandviken.
Sandviken
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift
Pastorat -1868 Ovansjö, 1869- Sandviken
Län Gävleborg
Landskap Gästrikland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag 1880 Gästriklands västra, 1881-1920 Gästriklands östra, 1921-1970 Gästriklands östra domsaga
Domsaga add here
Fögderi 1720-1917 Gästrikland fögderi, 1918-1945 Gävle fögderi, 1946- Sandvikens fögderi
Länsmansdistrikt add here
Kronofogdedistrikt add here
Kommun 1863-1926 Högbo, 1927-1942 Sandvikens köping, 1943- Sandvikens stad
Militär indelning add here
FamilySearch I.D. Sandviken 3523300, Högbo 6372928
NAD Ref Code Sandviken SE/HLA/1010263, Högbo SE/SVAR/HLA-133210026


Place Names

Hammaren Nedre, Hammaren Övre, Högbo bruk, Högbo bruks gruva ( Högbo bruks mine), Högbo bruks herrgård,
Prästgården,
Stabäck, Säveränge,
Västanbyn,
Östanbyn, Överbyn.


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections

Census Records

Church Records

Online Database Church Records

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be viewed on loan at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.

Military Records

Related Sources

{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Help Reading Swedish Records

Help Reading Old Handwriting

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies

Sweden Research Strategies

References

Högbo parish, Husförhörslängd AI:6 1837-1841, Ort register.

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Sandviken Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2015 http://www.nad.riksarkivet.se/