Sandy Lake Indian Subagency (Minnesota)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Indians of Minnesota Gotoarrow.png Sandy Lake Indian Subagency (Minnesota) Guide to Sandy Lake Indian Subagency (Minnesota) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Indian Tribes Associated With This Agency

Chippewa

History

The Sandy Lake Subagency was established in 1850 for members of the Chippewa Indians who lived along Lake Superior, transferred from La Pointe Agency, and the Chippewa of the Mississippi, who had previously been assigned to the Winnebago Agency. On the 30th of June 1851, the Sandy Lake Subagency was made a full agency and renamed the Chippewa Agency.[1]

Subagent

John S. Watrous 1850[2]

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs from the Sandy Lake Subagency, 1850-1851, have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M234, Roll 767[3]. Copies are available at the National Archives and at the Family History Library and its family history centers on their microfilm roll number 1661497.

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 162-163.
  2. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Press, [1974].
  3. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M234, p. 8.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. (comp.). Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Service, General Services Administration, 1981.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.
  • Marquette University. Guide to Catholic-Related Records in the Midwest about Native Americans.
  • Preliminary Inventory No. 163: Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs. Washington DC: National Archives and Records Services. Available online