Sao Tome and Principe Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sao Tome and Principe)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Genealogy

São Tomé and Príncipe Wiki Topics
Flag of Sao Tome and Principe (3-2).svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
São Tomé and Príncipe Background
Local Research Resources


Guide to São Tomé and Príncipe ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

São Tomé and Príncipe is an island country in the Gulf of Guinea off the coast of Central Africa whose nearest neighbors are Nigeria, Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and Republic of the Congo. It was formerly a colony of Portugal. The official language is Portuguese.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with São Tomé and Príncipe Research

Links to articles on getting started with São Tomé and Príncipe research.

São Tomé and Príncipe Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in São Tomé and Príncipe research.

Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

São Tomé and Príncipe Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in São Tomé and Príncipe.
Sao Tome and Principe.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in São Tomé and Príncipe. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.

São Tomé and Príncipe have two provinces of the same names:

Note: Principe has had self government since 29 April 1995.

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.


References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "São Tomé and Príncipe," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S%C3%A3o_Tom%C3%A9_and_Pr%C3%ADncipe, accessed 22 April 2016.