Sault Ste. Marie Indian Subagency (Michigan)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png American Indians Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Indians of Michigan Gotoarrow.png ;Sault Ste. Marie Indian Subagency (Michigan) Guide to Sault Ste. Marie Indian Subagency (Michigan) ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Indian Tribes Associated With This Subagency

Primarily Chippewa and Ottawa

History

The Sault Ste. Marie Agency was established in 1822 and was located at the falls (sault) of the St. Mary's River in northern Michigan. It was consolidated with the Mackinac Agency in 1832. From that combined agency came the Crow Wing Subagency in 1835, which was established for the Chippewa of the Mississippi, and the La Pointe Subagency, which was established for the Chippewa of Lake Superior.

In 1837, a separate Sault Ste. Marie Subagency was established to cover the Upper Peninsula of Michigan to the eastern border of Wisconsin. This subagency was discontinued on 30 June 1852 and its duties were assigned to the Mackinac Agency.[1]

Records

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Letters received by the Office of Indian Affairs from the Sault Ste. Marie Agency, 1824-1852, have been microfilmed by the National Archives as part of their Microcopy Number M234, rolls 770-771[2]. Copies are available at the National Archives and at the Family History Library and its family history centers (their microfilm roll numbers 1661500 thru 1661501). This correspondence includes that for both the earlier agency (1824-1832) and for the subagency of the same name (1837-1852).

References

  1. Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974, pp. 165-166.
  2. American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998, Microcopy M234, p. 8.
  • American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications. Washington DC: National Archives Trust Fund Board, National Archives and Records Administration, 1998.
  • Hill, Edward E. The Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880: Historical Sketches. New York, New York: Clearwater Publishing Company, Inc., 1974.
  • Historical Sketches for Jurisdictional and Subject Headings Used for the Letters Received by the Office of Indian Affairs, 1824-1880. National Archives Microcopy T1105.