Saunders County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Saunders County, Nebraska)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Nebraska Gotoarrow.png Saunders County

Saunders County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Saunders County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 26, 1856
County Seat Wahoo
Courthouse
px
Address Saunders County Courthouse
387 N Chestnut St
P.O. Box 61
Wahoo, NE 68066
Phone: 402.443.8101


Saunders County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Saunders County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1866 1860 1856 1866

County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage, burial, divorce, probate, court and land records.[1]

History

Parent County

1856 Saunders County was created 26 January 1856 from Lancaster and Douglas Counties. County seat: Wahoo [2]

Description

Saunders County was organized in 1866. The county was originally named after John C. Calhoun; in 1862, during the American Civil War, it was renamed after Nebraska territorial governor Alvin Saunders. It is located in the great Platte Valley.[3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[4]

Cities
  • Ashland
  • Wahoo
  • Yutan
Villages
  • Cedar Bluffs
  • Ceresco
  • Colon
  • Ithaca
  • Leshara
  • Malmo
  • Mead
  • Memphis
  • Morse Bluff
  • Prague
  • Valparaiso
  • Weston
Townships
  • Ashland
  • Bohemia
  • Center
  • Chapman
  • Chester
  • Clear Creek
  • Douglas
  • Elk
  • Green
  • Leshara
  • Marble
  • Marietta
  • Mariposa
  • Morse Bluff
  • Newman
  • North Cedar
  • Oak Creek
  • Pohocco
  • Richland
  • Rock Creek
  • South Cedar
  • Stocking
  • Union
  • Wahoo

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1870 4,547
1880 15,810 247.7%
1890 21,577 36.5%
1900 22,085 2.4%
1910 21,179 −4.1%
1920 20,589 −2.8%
1930 20,167 −2.0%
1940 17,892 −11.3%
1950 16,923 −5.4%
1960 17,270 2.1%
1970 17,018 −1.5%
1980 18,716 10.0%
1990 18,285 −2.3%
2000 19,830 8.4%
2010 20,780 4.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Saunders County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Saunders County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Past and Present of Saunders County Nebraska: A Record of Settlement, Organization, Progress and Achievement -- Vol. 1 -- http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1915/index.html . Vol 2 -- Biographical Sketches Names Index: http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1915/vol2/vol2-names.html

Saunders County Nebraska, Saunders County History 1983, Sponsored by the Saunders County Historical Society and Written by the People of Saunders County, Nebraska (Library of Congress No. 83- 050295) http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1983hist/ Family Stories Index http://www.usgennet.org/usa/ne/county/saunders/1983hist/famnames.html

Maps and Gazetteers

Plat Book, Saunders County Nebraska, compiled and published by The Brown-Scoville Publishing Co., 1907

Nesaunders.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Saunders County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Saunders - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

County, Township and City Societies

Libraries

  • Gretna Public Library
    Main Library-736 South St
    Gretna, NE
    Phone: 402-332-4480
    Fax: 402-537-3902
    Email: Gretna.Library@gmail.com

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Saunders County, Nebraska page 434, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/saunders/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Saunders County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Saunders_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  5. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map I" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap1.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).