Sawyer County, Wisconsin Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sawyer County, Wisconsin)
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Wisconsin


Sawyer County


Guide to Sawyer County Wisconsin ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}


Sawyer County, Wisconsin
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Wisconsin
Location of Wisconsin in the U.S.
Facts
Founded March 11, 1848
County Seat Hayward
Courthouse
Address Sawyer County Courthouse
10610 Main; PO Box 273;
Hayward, WI 54843
Phone: 715.634.4866
Sawyer County Courthouse
WI Sawyer.png

County Information

Sawyer County, Wisconsin Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1869 1883 1890 1883 1900


County Courthouse

Sawyer County Courthouse
10610 Main; PO Box 273;
Hayward, WI 54843
Phone: 715.634.4866

Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death, burial divorce, probate,
Court and land records [1]

WI Sawyer.png

Historical Facts

Parent County

1883--Sawyer County was created 10 March 1883 from Ashland and Chippewa Counties. County seat:&nbsp. Hayward [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ashland  • Barron  • Bayfield  • Douglas  • Price  • Rusk  • Washburn

WI SAWYER.JPG

Resources

Bible Records

Biography

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
WIGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
WIGenWeb Archives
EPodunk
Billion Graves
See Wisconsin Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census
Federal Census

Church History and Records

First Congregational Church Church, Hayward

Court Records

Crime and Criminals

Directories

Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups

Germans

Gazetteers

Genealogy

History

Land and Property

Maps

Migration

Military History and Records

Civil War
World War I
World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Obituaries

Periodicals

Probate Records

Online Records

Repositories

See also a List of Wisconsin Archives, Libraries, Publications, Historical & Genealogical Societies

Archives, Libraries and Museums
County Courthouse
Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Societies

Sawyer County Historical Society
PO Box 384
Hayward, WI 54843
Telephone: 715-634-6075
Website

Wisconsin Historical Society History Center and Archives
29270 County Highway G
Ashland, WI 54806-9339
Telephone: 715-685-2647
Website

Taxation

Vital Records

Birth Records
Marriage Records
Divorce Records
Death Records

Voting Registers

Web Sites

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. page 759 Sawyer County, Wisconsin (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Retrieved from "https://familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Sawyer_County,_Wisconsin_Genealogy&oldid=2787404"