Saxby by Owmby, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
England Wiki Topics
Flag of England
Beginning Research
Record Types
England Background
Ethnicity
Local Research Resources
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Saxby by Owmby

Guide to Saxby by Owmby, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Saxby by Owmby, Lincolnshire
Saxby St Helen Lincolnshire.jpg
Saxby St Helen Lincolnshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Aslacoe
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1666; Separate registers exist for Firsby beginning 1813; See also Caenby
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599; Separate records exist for Firsby beginning 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aslacoe
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

SAXBY (St. Helen), a parish in the E. division of the wapentake of Aslacoe, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 4 miles (S. E.) from Spittal. The living is a vicarage, with the rectory of Firsby united.[1]

Saxby by Owmby St Helen was built as a mortuary chapel for the Earls of Scarborough (the Lumley Saunderson family) in 1775.

The church was restored in 1869 when the apse window was blocked and plastered over, 1895 and following earthquake damage in 2004.

The village is to the north of Lincoln Owmby, Lincolnshire is to the north and Spridlington, Lincolnshire parish to the south.

The village and civil parish of Saxby includes the neighbouring mediaeval settlements of East and West Firsby about 4 miles north of Lincoln. The mediaeval parish of East Firsby lost its church and the civil parish was abolished in 1936.

This parish should not be confused with Saxby All Saints, Lincolnshire or other Saxby parishes in England.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the North-East sub district of Lincoln registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Saxby (Owmby) Par 1 and Firsby (by Saxby) Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Saxby with Firsby


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438763.


See Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Saxby/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 02 September 2013.