Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk
Saxlingham Nethergate Church.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Henstead
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Henstead
Registration District Henstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557; Some separate records exist for Saxlingham Thorpe
Bishop's Transcripts: 1698
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brooke
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Parish History

SAXLINGHAM-NETHERGATE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Henstead, E. division of Norfolk, 3½ miles (N. E.) from Stratton St. Mary.  There is a place of worship forBaptists. [1]

Also includes or is known as Foxhole and Saxlingham Thorpe.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[5]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Norfolk, Parish Registers, 1538-1900 (FamilySearch) - free[7]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[8]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[9]
NTA = Norfolk Transcription Archive - free[10]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[11]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[12]
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk Genealogy or Saxlingham Thorpe Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1558-1812

BOYD
1570-1739

FREG 1556-1906
1556-1900
1556-1800, 1813-1901
FREG 1562-1740, 1813-1836
1562-1740
1562-1740
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
FS PRs Undefined 1824-1901 Undefined 1813-1901
FS PRs Undefined 1557-1906 Undefined 1557-1901 Undefined 1557-1901
IGI 1556-1812
IGI 1570-1740
JOIN
1813-1837
TGEN 1813-1906 1813-1906 1754-1901 1754-1901 1851-1901 1851-1901
TIN 1813-1880


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438862.


Poor Law Unions

Henstead Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Henstead/Henstead.shtml

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 23-26. Date accessed: 14 May 2013.
  2. Pat Newby, transcriber, "William White's History, Gazetteer, and Directory of Norfolk 1845", GenUKI
  3. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  4. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 27 February 2014.
  5. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  6. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  7. 'England, Norfolk, Parish Registers (County Record Office), 1538-1900', FamilySearch, accessed 17 March 2014.
  8. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Norfolk, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 March 2014.
  9. 'Norfolk Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 8 February 2014.
  10. Norfolk Transcription Archive, accessed 15 April 2014.
  11. 'Subscription Coverage Catalogue', TheGenealogist, accessed 11 January 2016.
  12. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 10 April 2014.