Scampton, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Scampton, Lincolnshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.pngLincolnshire Parishes

Guide to Scampton, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Scampton, Lincolnshire
Scampton St John the Baptist.JPG
Scampton St John the Baptist
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lawress
County Lincolnshire
Poor Law Union Lincoln
Registration District Lincoln
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lawres
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1834 - Court of the Archdeaconry of Stow; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lincolnshire Record Office

Parish History

SCAMPTON (St. John the Baptist), a parish in the wapentake of Lawress with parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 5¾ miles (N. N. W.) from Lincoln.[1]

Scampton St John The Baptist is an Ancient Parish in the Lawres deanery of the Diocese of Lincoln.

The Church is mainly 18th century but some dates back to the 17th century with restorations taking place in 1794 and in 1876 – 1877. There are two brass panels in the Church and two more not on show with armorial inscription dated 1644 and 1648 of the Bolles and the Vele Families.

There are many Air Force graves from the Second World War to present day service personnel. To the East of the Church there are eight headstones that belong to the crews of two German warplanes that crashed on the main road near by.

RAF Scampton became famous as the home of 617 Squadron - The Dambusters - during WWII. Later it became a V-bomber base and was massively expanded as a result, causing the A15 to be diverted in a big curve around the north-eastern end of the runway. It is now home to the Royal Air Force Aerobatic Team, The Red Arrows, and Hawker Hunter Aviation have a small enclave on the station too. The Battle of Britain Memorial Flight also operate from here.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

The parish is in a sub District of Lincoln registration district

Certificate Applications, Lincolnshire Registration & Celebration Services, PO Box 760, Lincoln, LN2 5WG.
Tel: 01522 782244. E-mail: CopyCertificates@lincolnshire.gov.uk

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Scampton Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Scampton


Entries may be found in the International Genealogical Index 1548-1837

Deposited records are held at Lincolnshire Archives Office Reference: 1/1-1/8. Parish registers for Scampton, 1548-1995

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1548-1955; Marriages, 1587-1970; Burials, 1548-1812.
FHL BRITISH Film
1450404 Item 3
Burials in woolen, 1678-1679; Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1698-1706 (another filming).
FHL BRITISH Film
1542187 Item 7
Burials, 1813-1995.
FHL BRITISH Film
2246022 Item 20


General register
Date: 1548-1812

Description: Baptisms 1548-1712, 1713-1791, 1791-1812.
Marriages 1587-1750, 1713-1750, 1754-1812.
Burials 1548-1712, 1713-1791, 1791-1812.
This is a composite volume comprising three early parchment registers bound into the calf-bound volume of marriages (1754 onwards). The gatherings are as indicated by the commas. See below for the blank volume from which the baptismal and burial entries for 1791-1812 were taken. Memoranda of note:
Note on the inside front cover of the first gathering, stating that the large parsonage house consisted of five bays of building, with an orchard and gardens containing about 1/2 acre of ground.
Terrier (early 1700s), memorandum about the gift of a chalice, notes about the appointment of parish clerk, and a list of briefs 1661-1662 are to be found at the end of the first gathering.

Bishop's transcripts for Scampton, 1599-1837

Content
Film
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1599-1789.
FHL BRITISH Film
504749 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages and burials, 1813-1837.
FHL BRITISH Film
508034 Item 3



Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438768.



Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Scampton/

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 01 September 2013.

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/scampton-st-john-the-baptist/ for information about the parish

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/LIN/Scampton/#ChurchHist for Church history and pictures