Scarrington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: Scarrington, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Scarrington St John of Beverley Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1570; For more records see Orston|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of St John of Jerusalem or Shelford St Johns|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
SCARRINGTON, a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 12½ miles (E. by N.) from Nottingham. The living is annexed to the vicarage of Orston. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Scarrington St joh of Beverley was originally formed as a chapelry of Orston, Nottinghamshire Ancient Parish.
The 13th century parish church of St John of Beverely has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Scarrington, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SCARRINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1570-1901 Marriages 1571-1902 Burials 1570-1901 Bishop's Transcripts 1609-1854
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Scarrington
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..