Schönengrund parish, Appenzell, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngAppenzell Ausserrhoden Gotoarrow.png Schönengrund parish

Guide to Schönengrund parish, Appenzell, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

Schönengrund has an area of 5.2 square kilometers (2.0 square miles).  The area is used thusly:

65.5% agriculture
30.1% forest
4.4% settlement

Click here for a map showing Schönengrund in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.

History

Schönengrund was established as an independent parish in 1720 from Urnäsch.

Place Names

Locations within Schönengrund

Boden
Buregg
Freyenbühl
Gründen
Hanberg
Hochhamm
Letz
Pfand
Preisig

Scheibe
Schönengrund
Stocken
Tanne
Teufen
Teufenberg
Wolfentschwendi
Wolfentschwyl

Surrounding Parishes

Click here for a map showing Schönengrund in relation to the rest of Canton Appenzell.

Hemberg (Sankt Gallen)
Sankt Peterzell (Sankt Gallen)
Schwellbrunn
Urnäsch

Collections

Church Records

The parish records for Gais are now available online from the Appenzell State Archives.  They are organized by volume.  Click here to access these records.

The protestant parish of Schönengrund was established in 1720 from the parish of Urnäsch. Records held by the Family History Library include baptisms (Taufen), marriages (Heiraten), and Tote (deaths) from 1720-1875 and confirmations (Konfirmanden) from 1830-1875.

The following family books exist for Schönengrund and are held at the Cantonal Archive in Herisau, Switzerland:

Volume 1 (1837) - Family register of citizens
Volume 2 (1838) - Family register of cantonal citizens
Volume 3 (1838) - Family register of foreigners
Volume 4 (1838) - Register of settled journeymen and servants

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Schönengrund:

Alder family, by Gottlieb Büchler (FHL Film 962,790)
Alder family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,467)
Frehner family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,007)
Näf/Nef family
, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,035; see also FHL Film 193,480)
Preisig family
, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,084)
Stricker family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 193,485)
Tobler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,005; see also FHL Films 193,485 and 193,486)
Tobler family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 389,428; see also FHL Films 193,485 and 193,486)
Tobler family
, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 962,815; see also FHL Film 193,485 and 193,486)
Zellweger family, by Julius Billeter (FHL Film 128,008)

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Schönengrund belongs to the Hinterland civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Hinterland App. A. Rh.
Poststrasse 6
CH - 9102 Herisau

Tel: +41 71 354 54 35

Email: zivilstandsamt@herisau.ar.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Schönengrund prior to 1875:

Alder
Fisch
Fitzi (1821)
Frehner
Frick (extinct)
Gaosser (extinct)
Heuscher (extinct)
Himmelberger (extinct)
Hug (extinct)
Krüsi

Nef
Preisig
Rohner
Schedler (extinct)
Schindler (extinct)
Solenthaler (extinct)
Steingruber
Stricker
Tobler
Vetter (extinct)

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden (in German)

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Registry of Appenzell-Ausserrhoden, by Mario von Moos