Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Schuyler County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Schuyler County

Guide to Schuyler County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}



Schuyler County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded February 14, 1845
County Seat Lancaster
Courthouse
MissouriSchuylerCourthouse.jpg
Address Schuyler County Courthouse
Hwy 136
Lancaster, MO 63548-0187
Phone: 660.457.3842
Schuyler County Website


County Information

Schuyler County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1845 1883 1850 1845 1845

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth and death records 1883-1893; Clerk of the Circuit Court has marriage and divorce records; Probate Judge and Magistrate Courts have probate and court records.[2]

History

Parent County

1845 Schuyler County was created 14 February 1845 from Adair County. County seat: Lancaster [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Adair  • Appanoose County, Iowa  • Davis County, Iowa  • Putnam  • Scotland

Schuyler CountyPutnam CountySullivan CountyScotland CountyKnox CountyLewis CountyClark CountyShelby CountyAdair CountyLinn CountyGrundy CountyVan Buren CountyJefferson CountyMacon CountyWapello CountyLucas CountyWayne CountyAppanoose CountyMonroe CountyDavis CountyMOSchuyler.JPG



Resources

Cemeteries

Whitacre Family Cemetery, Schuyler County, Missouri

Schuyler County Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Schuyler County, Missouri

Schuyler County Cemeteries (Podunk)

Census

For tips on accessing Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • History of Adair, Sullivan, Putnam and Schuyler counties, Missouri : from the earliest time to the present. Chicago, Illinois : Goodspeed Pub. Co., 1888.
  • Watkins, Armara. History of Schuyler County : 1964 project Lancaster Garden Club. [Lancaster, Mo.] : Lancaster Garden Club, 1964.
  • Swanson, Arthur Malcolm. A History of Schuyler County, Missouri : showing the early development and expanding civilization and resources of a progressive community : sketches of the men who have made its past and whose lives are moulding its future. Trenton, Missouri : W.B. Rogers, [1945].

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Missouri Digital Heritage,

Maps

Military

Civil War
Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy:

- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 27th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company C
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company A
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company E
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 1st Northeast Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company K
- 29th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 29th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 29th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

  • Schuyler County Historical Society
    PO Box 215
    Lancaster, MO 63548
    Facebook
  • The Schuyler County History/Genealogy Club
    Facebook

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Schulyer County, Missouri History and Genealogy Website (by Roxann Gess) Free variety of links, indexes, some data submitted by individuals
Sites that search for links pertaining to Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Schuyler Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Schuyler County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Schuyler County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search (including one for Schuyler County History)

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Schuyler County, Missouri. Page 405 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.