Scott County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Scott County, Missouri)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Missouri Gotoarrow.png Scott County

Guide to Scott County, Missouri ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.


{{{link}}}


Scott County, Missouri
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Missouri
Location of Missouri in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 28, 1821
County Seat Benton
Courthouse
MissouriScottCourthouse.jpg
Address Scott County Courthouse
PO Box 188
Benton, MO 63736-0188
Phone: 573.545.3549
Scott County Website


County Information

Scott County, Missouri Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1883 1840 1883 1830 1822 1825

County Courthouse


Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce and court records; Probate Judge has probate records. [2]

History

Parent County

1821 Scott County was created 28 December 1821 from New Madrid County. County seat: Benton [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Alexander County, Illinois  • Cape Girardeau  • Mississippi  • New Madrid  • Stoddard

Cape Girardeau CountyScott CountyBollinger CountyStoddard CountyDunklin CountyPemiscot CountyNew Madrid CountyGibson CountyDyer CountyLake CountyMississippi CountyObion CountyWeakley CountyCarroll CountyHenry CountyFulton CountyHickman CountyCalloway CountyGraves CountyMcCracken CountyBallard CountyCarlisle CountyMarshall CountyLivingston CountyPulaski CountyLyon CountyCrittenden CountyAlexander CountyMassac CountyJohnson CountyUnion CountyHardin CountyPope CountyMOScott.JPG



Resources

Cemeteries

Census

For tips on accessing Scott County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Scott County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Ford, Royal E. History of Scott County, Missouri.
  • History of southeast Missouri. Embracing an historical account of the counties of Ste. Genevieve, St. Francois, Perry, Cape Girardeau, Bollinger, Madison, New Madrid, Pemiscot, Dunklin, Scott, Mississippi, Stoddard, Butler, Wayne and Iron. Chicago, The Goodspeed publishing co., 1888.

Maps

Moscott.jpg

Military

Civil War
Online Records

Regiments. Service men in Scott County, Missouri Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Scott County, Missouri Genealogy:

- 13th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company K
- 29th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company H
- 8th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry - Confederate, Company H
- 10th Regiment, Missouri Cavalry (Union), Company L

Naturalization and Citizenship

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Scott County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Probate

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Deaths

Genealogy Societies, Archives and Libraries

The Scott County Historical & Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 151
Benton, MO 63736
Email: scottcomohistory@gmail.com
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
Missouri Digital Heritage Free digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
MOGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Scott County, Missouri Genealogy
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records
Missouri Genealogy Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Scott County, Missouri Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Major genealogy resource library, located in Indiana. On home page enter "Scott Missouri" and search catalog.
Missouri State Archives Library catalog; from this page you must search "Scott County"
See also local libraries and Missouri Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Scott County, Missouri Genealogy
Google+ Missouri Genealogy Network Community
Facebook list of groups from "Missouri Genealogy" search

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 422-438. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scott County, Missouri. Page 405 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f4/Igimissourir.pdf.