Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
United States
Nebraska
Scotts Bluff County
Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska
Map
Map of Nebraska highlighting Scotts Bluff County
Location in the state of Nebraska
Map of the U.S. highlighting Nebraska
Location of Nebraska in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 6, 1888
County Seat Gering
Courthouse
Scotts Bluff County Courthouse Gering, Nebraska.JPG
Address Scotts Bluff County Courthouse
1825 10th Street
Gering, NE 69341
Phone: 308.436.6600


Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.


{{{link}}}

County Information

Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1889 1890 1889 1889


County Courthouse


County Clerk has marriage records. County Judge has divorce, probate and court records.[1]

History

Parent County

1888 Scotts Bluff County was created 6 November 1888 from Cheyenne County. County seat: Gering [2]

Description

Scotts Bluff was named after a prominent bluff that served as a monument for 19th-century pioneers traveling along the Oregon Trail. The bluff was named after a fur trapper named Hiram Scott who died near the bluff in 1828.[3]

Boundary Changes

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places[4]

Cities
  • Gering
  • Minatare
  • Mitchell
  • Scottsbluff
Villages
  • Henry
  • Lyman
  • McGrew
  • Melbeta
  • Morrill
  • Terrytown
Unincorporated communities
  • Bradley
  • Haig

Neighboring Counties

Resources

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
NEGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
NEGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Nebraska Cemeteries
Billion Graves
See Nebraska Cemeteries for more information.

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.  %±
1890 1,888
1900 2,552 35.2%
1910 8,355 227.4%
1920 20,710 147.9%
1930 28,644 38.3%
1940 33,917 18.4%
1950 33,939 0.1%
1960 33,809 −0.4%
1970 36,432 7.8%
1980 38,344 5.2%
1990 36,025 −6.0%
2000 36,951 2.6%
2010 36,970 0.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".
State Census Records
Federal Census Records

Federal Censuses were taken for Nebraska starting in 1860. For links to Federal census indexes, see Nebraska Census.

For tips on accessing Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska Genealogy census records online, see: Nebraska Census.

Church

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Nebraska denominations, view the Nebraska Church Records wiki page.

LDS Ward and Branch Records

  • Scottsbluff
  • Scottsbluff Dist

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Nebraska Land and Property for additional information about early Nebraska land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.

Online Land Records


For more information see Nebraska Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Nebraska Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers

Nescottsbluff.png

Migration

Early migration routes to and from Scotts Bluff County for European and African American settlers included:

Military

Revolutionary War
Civil War
WWI

Newspapers

For information on Nebraska newspapers, see Nebraska Newspapers.

Nebraska Newspapers Online

Nebraska Newspaper Catalogs

Probate

In most counties in Nebraska, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Nebraska - Scotts Bluff - Probate records.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Nebraska tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Marriage Records

Online Marriage Records Indexes and Images

Societies and Libraries

Libraries

Family History Centers

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska page 434, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. http://genealogytrails.com/neb/scottsbluff/ accessed 09/29/2016
  4. Wikipedia contributors, "Scotts Bluff County, Nebraska," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scotts_Bluff_County,_Nebraska, accessed 1 August 2016.
  5. Jim Tompkins, "The Oregon Trail 1841-1848 Map II" in Oregon Trail Landmarks at http://www.oregonpioneers.com/OTMap2.jpg (accessed 18 July 2011).
  6. "Oregon California Trails Association" at http://octatrails.micromaps.com/ (accessed 18 July 2011).
  7. "The Pioneer Story: The Mormon Pioneer Trail" in The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints at http://lds.org/gospellibrary/pioneer/pioneerstory.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).