Sculcoates Christ Church, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Sculcoates Christ Church, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
A chapel built at Hull, but which was considered as part of the parish of Sculcoates, was Christ Church Worship Street. It was created and built as a chapel of ease from Sculcoates All Saints (formerly St Mary's) ancient parish, by 1822.
Other places in the parish include: Sculcoates St Paul's (1844).
SCULCOATES (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, in the borough of Hull, locally in the E. riding of York. A church district named St. Paul's was formed in July 1844 by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners; it embraces a population of about 6000.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from the parish registers of All Saints (formerly St Mary's) and its two cahpelries--Christ Church (1822) and St Paul's (1846) exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Internet Archive - free|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org - free|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SCULCOATES CHRIST CHURCH CHAPELRY (1822) Online Records|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding SCULCOATES CHRIST CHURCH and comprising the whole ancient parish of HULL to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HULL parish page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, see "Parish History" (above) or, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
. To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464226.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 34-36. Accessed: 15 Apr 2013.