Scunthorpe St John, Lincolnshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire

Scuntorpe St John the Evangelist

Parish History

Scunthorpe St John the Evangelist was formed as an Ecclesiastical Parish in 1889.

Scunthorpe expanded rapidly as an iron making and mining area in North Lincolnshire and the growth in population of the urban area of the 5 villages Scunthorpe,  Frodingham, LincolnshireCrosby,Lincolnshire, Brumby  and  Ashby (Scunthorpe),Lincolnshire which formed the town after the 1860 mining of ironstone began lead to a need for new parishes.

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the Winterton sub-district of Glanford Brigg registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Scunthorpe St John Par 1 will identify available images.


Census records

Contributor: Include an overview if there is any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. Add a link to online sites for indexes and/or images. Also add a link to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.See Lincolnshire Census

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites