Seacourt, Berkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Seacourt, Berkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Gotoarrow.png Berkshire Parishes 

Guide to Seacourt, Berkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Seacourt, Berkshire
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hormer
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Abingdon
Registration District Abingdon
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

SEACOURT, an extra-parochial liberty, in the poorlaw union of Abingdon, hundred of Hormer, county of Berks. [1]
Seacourt is an extra-parochial placepartly in Berkshire and partly in Oxfordshire. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for Seacourt. [2] Genuki.org.uk has additional information on this parish.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Seacouort is aa extra-parochial. Search surrounding parishes for records and information.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conforist Churches

None

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241201.
To view these census images online, they are available through a number of websites for a fee or free.

  • findmypast (fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk(fee-based) but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a free based UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Berkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
England Jurisdictions 1851
Vision of Britain

Websites

Seacourt an extra-parochial in GENUKI

References

Berkshire Family History Society

Berkshire Family History Association, Inc.