Seegräben parish, Zürich, Switzerland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.pngSwitzerland Gotoarrow.pngZürich Gotoarrow.png Seegräben parish

Guide to Seegräben parish, Zurich, Switzerland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Geography

History

Seegräben was established as an independent parish in 1855. From 1532, when the area became Protestant, until 1621, Seegräben belonged to the parish of Gossau. In 1621, it was transferred to Wetzikon.

Place Names

Locations within Seegräben

Aretshalden
Grossweid
Kehrscheibe
Ober-Aatal
Ottenhausen
Robänkli
Sack

Schönenwerd
Seegräben
Steinberg
Talwies
Unter-Aatal
Unterwerk
Wagenburg

Surrounding Parishes

Mönchaltorf
Pfäffikon
Uster
Wetzikon

Collections

Church Records

Census Records

(see here for article describing the Zürich census records)

Seegräben became an independent parish in 1855. Only one census was enumerated for Seegräben as a separate place. For other censuses, see Wetzikon.

Census Year FHL Film number item number beginning page
1634 1185139 3 492

Genealogies

(see here for article describing Swiss compiled genealogies)

The following genealogies have been researched for Seegräben families:

Civil Registration

Civil registration began in 1876. Seegräben belongs to the Wetzikon civil registration district. Records are only available in Switzerland. For further information, contact the civil registry office at:

Zivilstandsamt Wetzikon
Bahnhofstrasse 167
CH-8622 Wetzikon

Tel: +41 44 931 32 00

email: zivilstandswesen@wetzikon.ch

Surnames

The following surnames held citizenship in Seegräben prior to 1875:

Baumann
Berchtold
Ehrismann
Guyer
Hämig (1833, from Uster)
Hasler
Heusser
Hirzel
Huber (from Wetzikon)
Keller (from Wila)
Knüsli (from Wetzikon)

Messikommer
Ritter (1791, from Lindau)
Rüegg
Schätti
Schellenberg (from Pfäffikon)
Schoch
Tobler
Walder
Weber (1874, from Weisslingen)
Wegmann (1835, from Uster)

Related Sources

The town's website (in German) can be found here.

Societies and Libraries

Cantonal Archive of Zürich

References

Register of Swiss Surnames

Historical Gazetteer of Switzerland