Seine-Saint-Denis, France Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Seine-St.Denis)
Jump to: navigation, search

EuropeGotoarrow.pngFrance Gotoarrow.png Seine-Saint-Denis

Guide to Seine-Saint-Denis, France ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Online Church Records and Civil Registration

The vast majority of your research will be in church records and civil registration. For most of France, these records are available online from the archives of each department. However, currently no records are available online for Seine-Saint-Denis.

Microfilm Records

  • Seine-Saint-Denis was created from splitting the Department of Seine-et-Oise in 1968. It also covers a small part that was formally in the Department of Seine.
  • Search the records of the Family History Library, which has microfilmed records for several municipalities formerly in Seine or Seine-et-Oise.
  • These microfilms can be borrowed from the collection of the Family History Library or at a nearby Family History Center

Contact the Seine-Saint-Denis Archives

Try contacting the archives to see if arrangements can be made to have a record copied and mailed:

Departmental Archives of Seine-Saint-Denis
54 avenue du President Salvador Allende
93000 Bobigny
France
Tel: 01.43.93.97.00
Fax: 01.43.93.96.00

This guide will help you in writing to the archives in French: France Letter Writing Guide

Hiring Searches by an Agent Your Behalf

Professional Genealogists who specialize in French Research

Websites