Sem, Vestfold, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sem, Norway)
Jump to: navigation, search

Europe Gotoarrow.png Norway Gotoarrow.pngVestfold County Gotoarrow.pngSem

Guide to Sem, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Church Records

Sem clerical district contains parish registers from the parishes Sem, Slagen and Valløy. They were separated from Tønsberg clerical district in 1739. For earlier records see Sankt Laurentii parish in Tønsberg clerical district.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of the church books, 1702-1924.

Digital images are online at Digitalarkivet:

Sem: 1814-1962

Sem / Nordre Slagen: 1963-1979

Sem / Sem: 1702-1814, 1877-1924, 1958-1972

Sem / Slagen: 1702-1814, 1877-1937

Tønsberg / St. Laurentii: 1690-1809

Census Records

  • Sogneprestenes manntall 1664-1666.  The 1664-1666 clerical census for Sem clerical district include the parishes of Sem and Slagen and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library
  • Folketelling 1 Feb 1801, Norge.  The 1801 census for Sem clerical district include the parishes of Sem, Slagen and Valløy, and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).
  • Folketælling for kongeriget Norge den 31te December 1875.  The 1875 census forSem clerical district include the parishes of Sem, Slagen and Valløy, and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.
  • Folketælling for Norge, 3 Dec 1900.  The 1900 census for Sem clerical district include the parishes of Sem, Slagen and Valløy, and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library.  This census is also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives); as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre.

Court Records

Land Records

Farm Books

Sem og Slagen: En bygdebok is online. The first volume contains the farm histories. Click on "Første del", then on "Innhold" for a list and link to each farm.

Farm Book on the Internet

Sem Parish.

Sem og Slagen - en bygdebok. Gårdshistorie , bind 1 . Tønsberg: Høgskolen i Vestfold, 2002.

Farm Names =

18 Aaleborgen 13 Aas nordre 46 Aker 41 Askehaug 43 Aulerød 60 Barkaaker 55 Berg nordre 48 Bjelland 62 Brekke vestre 35 Bækkevar 19 Domsengen 7 Eikeberg søndre 5 Eikeberg vestre 47 Eldre 54 Emmerød 17 Fadum Eng 16 Fadum mellem 10 Fadum nordre 59 Fresje nordre 20 Fresti søndre 12 Fyldpaa 24 Grette nedre 8 Gulli 52 Hasle 38 Hesby mellem 49 Hogsnes 5 Holmene 68 Huseklep 67 Jareteigen nordre 51 Jarlsberg 71 Kjær søndre 21 Kjær vestre 51 Kongs-Eik 57 Kruke 27 Laane mellem 30 Lensberg nedre 46 Løkeberg 45 Manum med Torp 70 Myre 11 Nauen 23 Panne 9 Rastad 53 Rise 36 Rygg 64 Røsland 65 Sanderød 31 Skollerød 63 Skotte 32 Smedsrød 50 Smørberg 34 Svelterød 61 Sverstad 69 Tangsrød 34 Taranrød 42 Tem 33 Tollerød 37 Tveitan 4 Tveiten 2 Undrum mellem 22 Vermeli 44 Vik 8 Ødegaarden

Probate Records

Søndre Jarlsberg judicial district
*1696-1848 Family History Library
*1700-1848 Digitalarkivet

Jarlsberg deanery
*1704-1808 Family History Library
*1704-1808 Digitalarkivet

References

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names