Senegal Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Senegal)
Jump to: navigation, search

Africa Gotoarrow.png Senegal

Senegal Wiki Topics
900px-Flag of Senegal.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Senegal Background
Local Research Resources

Guide to Senegal ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Country Information

Senegal is a country in Africa bordered by Mauritania, Mali, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, and Gambia. Portions of the country were formerly governed by France. The official language is French.[1]

Getting Started

Getting Started with Senegal Research

Links to articles on getting started with Senegal research.

Senegal Research Tools

Links to articles and websites that assist in Senegal research.


{{{link}}}Ask the Community Button New Version.jpg

Senegal Map

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Senegal. Senegal, administrative divisions - en - monochrome.png

Jurisdictions

Genealogy records are kept on the local level in Senegal. Senegal is divided into 11 regions:

  • Dakar
  • Diourbel
  • Fatick
  • Kaolack
  • Kolda
  • Louga
  • Matam
  • Saint-Louis
  • Tambacounda
  • Thies
  • Ziguinchor

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in resourcing your family.

References

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Senegal," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Senegal, accessed 22 April 2016.