Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sevier County, Arkansas)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Sevier County

Guide to Sevier County, Arkansas ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Sevier County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Sevier County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 17, 1828
County Seat De Queen
Courthouse
ArkansasSevierCourthouse.jpg
Address Sevier County Courthouse
115 N 3rd;
De Queen, AR 71832
Phone: 870.642.2425


County Courthouse

Sevier County Courthouse
115 N 3rd;
De Queen, AR 71832
Phone: 870.642.2425

County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1829; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1829 1914* 1830 1830 1829
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

Government and Related Websites

  • PublicRecords.com (unofficial site) Provides links to County officials and public records.

History

Parent County

  • 1828--Sevier County was created 17 October 1828 from Hempstead and Miller Counties.  County seat: De Queen [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog


Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Hempstead  • Howard  • Little River  • McCurtain County, Oklahoma  • Polk  •

Sevier CountyPolk CountyHoward CountyPike CountyHempstead CountyLittle River CountyBowie CountyMiller CountyMontgomeryRed River CountyMcCurtain CountyARSevier.JPG


History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were taken from the Sevier County page on the website, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History and Culture. [4]

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Online Sevier County, Arkansas cemeteries
from state and national resources
Search for names of people
in Sevier County
Get a list of cemeteries
(then click to names of people)
Find printed records
(Often more complete)
  • Find A Grave Click "Refine Last Search" on the left, enter a name, click "Search"
  • Billion Graves Enter a name and click "Search" (Statewide. Can search by county, but many with no results.)
  • ARGenWeb Select a county, then "Cemeteries." Some overlap with USGenWeb.

More cemetery lists

Census

Church Records

Methodist
  • 1885 - Mt. Ida Methodist Church Marriage Index 1885. Batch M586091 at FamilySearch - free.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Local Histories

Local histories are available for {{{1}}} County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. Click for a brief Timeline History of the county. For more about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

  • Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Southern Arkansas. Chicago, IL, USA: Goodspeed Publishing, 1890. Online at: Ancestry.com ($)

Maps

Military

Revolutionary War
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Collection 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Arkansas section begins on page 439.]
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy:

- 2nd Regiment, Arkansas Mounted Rifles (Confederate), Company G
- 5th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), "Sevier County Stars"
- 33rd Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[5], Companies C, E, and F

Online Records

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Occupations

Probate Records

Online Probate Records

.

Taxation

Vital Records

See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
  • 1839 - 1885 - Sevier County Birth Index 1839-1885. Batch C586053 at FamilySearch - free.
Marriage
Death

Southwest Arkansas Daily  Local area current obituaries Southwest Arkansas/Southeast Oklahoma

Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch Catalog Select topics. For towns, click here.
WorldCat Click an item for libraries near you. For more information, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library Located in Indiana, they are heavily involved in digitizing much of their collection.
Arkansas History Commission Select the county Arkansas state agency involved in organizing, digitizing, and maintaining the records of state and local history.
Local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries may suggest other catalogs

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Archives Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
RootsWeb resources Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS Free family history resources and government records


Social networking sites pertaining to Sevier County, Arkansas Genealogy
genealogy.com Sevier County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Sevier County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 70.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Billy Ray McKelvy, The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture, (http://www.encyclopediaofarkansas.net/encyclopedia/entry-detail.aspx?entryID=808&type=Category&item=Counties&parent=Counties%2c+Cities%2c+and+Towns&grandparent=+%3a+accessed+January+6%2c+2016)%2c : accessed January 15, 2016), “Sevier County.”
  5. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas: Arkansas Research, c1987), p. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki.
  7. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/d/d7/Arkansasnz.pdf.