Shardlow, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shardlow, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Shardlow, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shardlow, Derbyshire
Shardlow Church Derbyshire.jpg
Shardlow Church Derbyshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Morlestone and Litchurch
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1838
Bishop's Transcripts: 1838
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Stanton by Bridge
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

SHARDLOW, with Great Wilne, a township, and the head of a union, in the parish of Ashton-upon Trent, hundred of Morleston and Litchurch, S. division of the county of Derby, 7 miles (S. E. by E.) from Derby. There are places of worship for Baptists and the New Connexion of Methodists. [1]

Shardlow St James is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Derbyshire, created in 1839 from Aston upon Trent Ancient Parish. .

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Shardlow parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Shardlow St James (1838) Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1838-1912
  NONE
1839-1912
  NONE
1839-1912
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Shardlow St James also includes Great Wilne. It was originally a township in Aston on Trent, Derbyshire parish. The church was built in 1838 and the parish was formed in 1850

Derbyshire Record Office reference D 2298 has deposited registers Bap 1838-1940 Mar 1839-1976 Burials 1839-1962 Banns 1839-1966

Lichfield Record Office has deposited Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1836-1883 Mar none Burials 1839-1883

Non Conformist Churches

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241292.


Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Shardlow on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 56-58. Date accessed: 27 May 2013.