Sharnford, Leicestershire Genealogy
St Helen Sharnford, Leicestershire
|Poor Law Union||Hinckley|
|Parish registers: 1595|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1566|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester|
|Location of Archive|
|Leicestershire Record Office|
SHARNFORD (St. Helen), a parish, in the union of Hinckley, hundred of Sparkenhoe, S. division of the county of Leicester, 4¼ miles (E. S. E.) from Hinckley.
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Sharnford like this:
SHARNFORD, a parish, with a village, in Hinckley district, Leicester; on the river Soar and the Fosse way, 3 miles N N W of Ullesthorpe r. station, and 4 E S E of Hinckley. There are a Wesleyan chapel.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sharnford, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.|
|Sharnford, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office
Contact: The Record Office Telephone: 0116 2571080 Fax: 0116 2571120 E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org
Diocese of Leicester: Sharnford Bap 1595 - 1935 Marr 1595 – 2000 (Banns to1968)
Bur 1595 - 1889
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438749.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.