Sheepshed, Leicestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sheepshed, Leicestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png LeicestershireGotoarrow.png Leicestershire Parishes

Guide to Sheepshed, Leicestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Sheepshed, Leicestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred West Goscote
County Leicestershire
Poor Law Union Loughborough
Registration District Loughborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1577
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Akeley
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Leicester
Location of Archive
Leicestershire Record Office

Parish History

SHEEPSHEAD (St. Botolph), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, hundred of West Goscote, N. division of the county of Leicester, 4 miles (W.) from Loughborough. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sheepshed, Leicestershire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PC = Parish Chest - (£). Registers delivered by email.[2]
Sheepshed, Leicestershire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PC 1647-1909
1655-1910
1651-1910

Deposited records are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office

Contact: The Record Office
Telephone: 0116 2571080
Fax: 0116 2571120
E-mail: recordoffice@leics.gov.uk

Diocese of Leicester: Shepshed Bap 1538 - 1993 Marr 1538 – 1990 (Banns to 1985) Bur 1538 - 1969

Non Conformist records available at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office include:

Shepshed Particular Baptist (Charnwood Rd) Marriages 1861-1871 referenceN/B/289/12
Shepshed Particular Baptist (Charnwood Rd) Births 1861-1865 reference N/B/289/9

Shepshed Particular Baptist Births 1754-1837 Burials 1785-1794 Shepshed Roman Catholic Baptisms 1837-1908 Deaths1854-1894 Shepshed Methodist (Charnwood Rd) Marriages 1913-1968 reference N/M/207/306-307

Shepshed Wesleyan Methodist (Loughborough
Circuit) Baptisms 1853-1876 reference N/M/207/182

Shepshed Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints Births, Deaths etc 1848-1891

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438746.


Poor Law Unions

Loughborough Poor Law Union, Leicestershire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Leicestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 58-66. Date accessed: 31 July 2013.
  2. 'Leicestershire Parish Registers', Parish Chest, accessed 27 January 2014.