Sheepwash, Devon Genealogy
Guide to Sheepwash, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Torrington|
|Parish registers: 1674; For more records see Shebbear|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Barnstaple|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
SHEEPWASH, a village and a parish in Torrington district, Devon. The village stands on the river Torridge, 1¾ mile N of Highampton, and 10½ N N W of Okehampton railway station; was anciently called Sepawasse and Ship-wash.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Sheepwash, Devon Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Sheepwash, Devon Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Bible Christian Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Sheepwash on GENUKI