Sheffield, Yorkshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sheffield, Yorkshire)
Jump to: navigation, search
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes S-Y
West Riding
Sheffield

Guide to Sheffield St Peter and St Paul, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sheffield, Yorkshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Strafforth and Tickhill
County Yorkshire
Poor Law Union Sheffield
Registration District Ecclesall Bierlow; Sheffield
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Doncaster
Diocese York
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Yorkshire Record Office

Parish History

"SHEFFIELD (St. Peter), a borough and parish, and the head of a union, partly in the N., but chiefly in the S., division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York and the township of Sheffield, 55 miles (S. W. by S.) from York.and 163 (N. N. W.) from London. [1] Sheffield St Peter is an ancient parish, erected in the reign of Henry I.

A Complete List of Sheffield Parish and Chapels

Sheffield had the following parish and chapels attached to it, all lying within its jurisdiction and boundaries as of 1880:

The following district churches and chapels were built within Sheffield parish and they include the following: 

In the town are eleven places of worship for various denominations of Methodists, six for Independents, and one each for Baptists, Quakers, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, 9 Roman Catholics - 1781

Neighboring Parishes

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Resources

Cemeteries

A rich website with several cemetery and churchyard burial grounds is found at:

Parish Records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Sheffield exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.com (£)
FREG = FreeREG - free
SI = Sheffield Indexers - burials for numerous churches & chapels, 1598-1995
FS = FamilySearch.org
IARC = Internet Archive - free
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
SHEFFIELD ST PETER & ST PAUL CATHEDRAL (1560) Online Records (see also Ecclesfield)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1653-1686

1653-1686

1653-1686

FREG 1560-1635, 1653-1687, 1720-1752
1560-1634, 1653-1686, 1720-1736
1635-1653, 1703-1735
FS 1561-1910

1562-1882,1910-1912

1719-1720, 1778-1788

IARC 1560-1653

1560-1653

1560-1634

JOIN None
1561-1736

None
SI 1653-1752; 1816-1842 1560-1754 1687-1736
Sheffield St George Parish (1824) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS
None
None Add None
JOIN None None
None None None
SI 1825-1977 1848-1977
Sheffield St James Chapelry (1788) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC





FS 1787-1872





JOIN





Sheffield St John Park Hill Chapelry (1837) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SI 1840-1906





FS





Sheffield St Mary Brammall Chapelry (1830) Records Online

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS
None


None

AC





Sheffield St Matthias Chapelry (1877) Online Records






AC





FS
None
None Add None
  Sheffield St Paul (1720) Online Records
FS 1748-1829 None 1860-1881 (part.)
None

None
SI
1751-1812





Sheffield St Phillip Chapelry (1828) Online Records
FS 1828-1883

1848-1883



SI 1828-1883
Sheffield St Simon Parish (1856) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SI 1856-1940

1858-1940



FS
None
None Add None
JOIN None None
None None None
Sheffield St Stephen Chapelry (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
FS





SI 1858-1902
Attercliff Chapelry (1694) Online Records
SI 1693-1826 (part.)



1859-1887

FS 1748-1832
None
None
Brightside All Saints Chapelry (1869) Online Records
AC





FS 1748-1832
None
None
Brightside St Thomas Chapelry (1846) Online Records
SI 1846-1872





FS
[[http://familysearch.org1869-1890 1869-1890]

None
None
Carbrook Chapelry (1874) Online Records
AC





FS 1748-1832
None
None
Crookes Chapelry (1840) Online Records
SI 1840-1903

1857-1885



FS 1883-1901

None
Darnall Chapelry (1844) Online Records
SI



1859-1995

FS 1841-1892

None
1925-1947
Dyer's Hill Chapelry (1865) Online Records
SI 1876-1904





FS

None
None
Ecclesall Bierlow Chapelry (1784) Online Records
SI 1743-1750





FS 1748-1832
None
None
Eldon St Jude Chapelry (1849) Online Records
AC





FS 1849-1852
None
None
Fulwood Chapelry (1838) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
SI 1838-1915





FS 1838-1842





Gleadless Chapelry (1843) Online Records
FS 1843-1894





Grimesthorpe Chapelry (1854) Online Records 
FS
None





Heeley Chapelry (1846) Online Records

           Baptisms
         Marriages
              Burials
FS None
None




SI 1891-1895 1891-1895
Highfield Chapelry (1877)
FS
None

none



Hillsborough Military (barracks) Chapel (1858) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
SI 1858-1888





FS
None
None None
Hollis Croft Chapelry (1852) Online Records

           Baptisms
         Marriages
              Burials
FS [http://familysearch.org1852-1902%5D
None



SI 1852-1902 Ma
Neepsend Chapelry (1867) Online Records
                 Baptisms                   Marriages                Burials
FS 1867-1896 None None None None None
SI
1867-1887





Owlerton Chapelry (1858) Online Records
FS
1858-1903




SI 1874-1903 1876-1902
Pitsmoor Chapelry (1846) Online Records
SI
1846-1870




FS 1846-1894
Shalesmoor  Chapelry (1828) Online Records
SI 1828-1883

1848-1883



Wicker Holy Trinity Chapelry (1847) Online Records
FS 1867-1896





SI 1848-1884
Walkley Chapelry (1869) Online Records
FS
None
None




SI 1869-1901

Church of England records began in 1560 for Sheffield, Cathedral Church of St. Peter and St. Paul.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464280.


Bibiography

Genealogy and History Websites 

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 58-66.