Shelby County, Iowa Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shelby County, Iowa)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Iowa Gotoarrow.png Shelby County

Guide to Shelby County, Iowa ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}

Shelby County, Iowa
Map
Map of Iowa highlighting Shelby County
Location in the state of Iowa
Map of the U.S. highlighting Iowa
Location of Iowa in the U.S.
Facts
Founded January 15, 1851
County Seat Harlan
Courthouse
IowaShelbyCourthouse.jpg


County Information

Shelby County, Iowa Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1880 1853 1880 1840 1854 1869

County Courthouse

History

Isaac Shelby.JPG

The county is named after Kentucky's First Governor Isaac Shelby (1750-1826).[2]

Parent County

1851--Shelby County was created 15 January 1851 from Pottawattamie County. It was organized 7 March 1853.
County seat:  Harlan [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Iowa County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Iowa County Boundary Maps" (1816-1872) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Biography

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Audubon • Carroll • Cass • Crawford • Harrison • Pottawattamie

Shelby CountyAudubon CountyCass CountyPottawattamie CountyHarrison CountyMonona CountyCrawford CountyCarroll CountyGreene CountyGuthrie CountyAdair CountyAdams CountyMontgomery CountyMills CountyWoodbury CountyIda CountySac CountyCalhoun CountyBurt CountyThurston CountyWashington CountyDouglas CountySarpy CountyDodge CountySaunders CountyIAShelby.JPG

Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Tombstone Transcriptions Online Tombstone Transcriptions in Print List of Cemeteries in the county
Findagrave.com Family History Library Findagrave.com
IAGenWeb WorldCat Billion Graves
IAGenWeb Archives
Tombstone Project
Iowa Gravestones
Billion Graves
See Iowa Cemeteries for more information.

Census

State Census

Church

Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information about these major repositories, see Iowa Church Records.


Lutheran
  • 1883-1925 - Minutes and Membership Records of the American Lutheran Church, Shelby County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Elk Horn

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Elk Horn, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Irwin

  • Records of the St. Paul's Lutheran Church, Irwin, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Iowa Land and Property for additional information about early Iowa land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Shelby County, Iowa Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Iowa Local Histories.


Maps

Military

Newspapers

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: List of online newspaper archives

NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a large collection of digitized Iowa newspapers online. This database is sometimes free at libraries.

Probate

Online Probate Records

In most counties in Iowa, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Iowa - Shelby - Probate records.


Taxation

Iowa tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Tax lists were usually made every year, however, there may be gaps of several years. For more information, see the wiki page Iowa Taxation.


Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Iowa Department of Public Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also How to order Iowa Vital Records or order electronically online.

Births
Marriages
Death

Societies and Libraries

Shelby County Historical Museum
1805 Morse Avenue
Harlan, Iowa 51537
Telephone:712-755-2437
E-mail: shelbyco.museum@gmail.com
Website

Museum of Danish America Genealogy Center
4210 Main Street
PO Box 249
Elk Horn, Iowa 51531-0249
Telephone:712-764-7008
E-mail: genealogy@danishmuseum.org
Website

Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.

Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 225-231. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. "List of Counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).