Shelford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to: Shelford, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Shelford St Peter&St Paul Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1563|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1627|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
SHELFORD (St. Peter and St. Paul), is a parish, in the union of Bingham, S. division of the wapentake of Bingham and of the county of Nottingham, 8 miles (E. N. E.) from Nottingham; containing, with the townships of Saxondale, and part of that of Newton.
Shelford St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish which included Shelford with Newton, Newton, and Saxondale.
Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the parish Shelford St Peter and St Paul
The parish church of St Peter and St Paul has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Shelford, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|SHELFORD PARISH Online Records|
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1563-2004 Marriages 1563-1993 Burials 1563-1992 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1865
Nottinghamshire County Council
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Shelford
Shelford. A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dating from 1748, giving surname, given name, date of death and age. The original is held at Nottinhamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/27 and article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine vol. 64, pages 22-23 , Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Bailey, Bryan. Shelford Church Wardens Accounts 1831-1867. A listing of people paid by the Church, and the services rendered and the amount paid. The original is held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 2866, also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 127, pages 47-86, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Bailey, Bryan. Shelford Banns 1754-1808, Listing gives Grooms name, and parish, Bride's name and parish, and month and year, 1754-1808, Original in Nottinghamshire Archives Ref PR 3559, Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, Vol. 115 page 65-67, also 1823-1894, pages 68-73, Nottinghamshire Archives Ref. PR 2861. FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438903.
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 09 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 12 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.