Shelley, Essex Genealogy
Guide to Shelly, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
St Peter Shelley Essex
|Poor Law Union||Ongar|
|Parish registers: 1687|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1639; 1800|
|Diocese||Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Essex|
|Location of Archive|
|Essex Record Office|
Shelley, is a parish in Ongar district, Essex; 1¾ mile N of Ongar railway station. The post town, Ongar, is under Brentwood.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Shelley, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)|
|FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free|
|Shelley, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241374.
Poor Law Unions
In 1613 the cost of poor relief was 20s. 4d. In 1776 it was £64. In 1783-5 expenditure averaged £89 a year. In the years of scarce food at the turn of the century it almost reached £300 and through the Napoleonic wars varied between £200 and £345. There was a parish poorhouse by 1776. In each of the three years ending at Easter 1815 there were 16 or 17 persons on 'permanent' outdoor relief and 9 or 10 persons who were relieved occasionally. In 1836 Shelley became part of Ongar Poor Law Union. 
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Shelley on GENUKI
Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted, date accessed: 18 May 2013.
- Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
- 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.
- From: 'Shelley: Poor relief', A History of the County of Essex: Volume 4: Ongar Hundred (1956), pp. 208. British History Date accessed: 06 February 2011.