Shenington, Oxfordshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shenington, Oxfordshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  OxfordshireGotoarrow.png  Oxfordshire Parishes

Guide to Shenington, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Shenington, Oxfordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bloxham; Tewkesbury
County Oxfordshire
Poor Law Union Banbury
Registration District Banbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1721; For more records see Alkerton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578;1613
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Campden
Diocese Worcester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Oxfordshire Record Office

Parish History

SHENINGTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of Banbury, N. division of the hundred of Bloxham, county of Oxford, 6 miles (W. N. W.) from Banbury. [1]

Formerly an enclave of Gloucestershire.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shenington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4]
OFHS = Oxfordshire Family History Society - (£). Results delivered by email.[5]
Shenington, Oxfordshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1813-1836 1813-1836 1814-1836 1814-1836 1814-1836 1814-1836
OFHS 1613-1999
1613-1990
1613-2000

Census records

 

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288778.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 69-74. Date accessed: 24 September 2012.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 22 June 2016.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Marriages and Banns, 1754-1938', Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.
  5. 'OFHS Parish Records Date Finder,', Oxfordshire Family History Society, accessed 23 January 2014.