Shermanbury, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Shermanbury, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Windham and Ewhurst|
|Poor Law Union||Steyning|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
SHERMANBURY (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Windham and Ewhurst, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 8 miles (N. E. by N.) from Steyning. It is bounded on the south by the river Adur. The church, which is beautifully situated in Shermanbury Park, close to the mansion-house, is a handsome structure; the windows are embellished with stained glass.
Shermanbury St Giles is an Ancient Parish.
Church History Shermanbury St Giles
The Parish church of St Giles has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Shermanbury, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Shermanbury, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Shermanbury
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.
Poor Law Unions
There are 52 1641 Protestation returns in the database at Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.