Sherrington, Wiltshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sherrington, Wiltshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngWiltshireGotoarrow.png Wiltshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Sherrington

Guide to Sherrington, Wiltshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sherrington, Wiltshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Branch and Dole
County Wiltshire
Poor Law Union Warminster
Registration District Warminster
Records begin
Parish registers: 1677
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Wylye
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Salisbury
Location of Archive
Wiltshire Record Office

Parish History

SHERRINGTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Warminster, forming a detached portion of the hundred of Branch and Dole, Warminster and S.divisions of Wilts, 3 miles (W. N. W.) from Wiley.[1] [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sherrington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[6]
NIM = Nimrod Research - (£). Results delivered by email.[7]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[8]
SHERRINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1613-1812 1613-1812 1613-1753 1613-1753 1613-1812 1613-1812
FMP 1500s-1800s
FREG
1677-1837

JOIN
1705-1835

NIM 1608-1837
1608-1837
1608-1837
TGEN
1677-1837

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464193.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Wiltshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. Date accessed: 14 October 2013.
  2. From: 'Shereford - Shifford', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 74-80. British HistoryDate accessed: 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Church of England Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813', Ancestry, accessed 16 June 2016.
  4. 'Search more than 99,000 new Wiltshire parish baptism records,' findmypast, accessed 5 June 2014. Coverage year range is not clearly identified.
  5. 'Wiltshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 10 January 2014.
  6. Wiltshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 11 September 2013.
  7. 'Wiltshire Parish Explorer,' Nimrod Research, accessed 8 January 2014.
  8. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.