Shiawassee County, Michigan Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shiawassee County, Michigan)
Jump to: navigation, search

United States Gotoarrow.png Michigan Gotoarrow.png Shiawassee County

Guide to Shiawassee County, Michigan ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}




Shiawassee County, Michigan
Map
Map of the U.S. highlighting Michigan
Location of Michigan in the U.S.
Facts
Founded September 10, 1822
County Seat Corunna
Courthouse
Address Shiawassee County Courthouse
208 N Shiawasee St.
Corunna, MI 48817
Phone: (517) 743-2242
Shiawassee County Website


County Information

Shiawassee County, Michigan Record Dates

Beginning Dates for Major County Records[1]
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1867 1867 1867 1820 1836 1840

County Courthouse


County Clerk has birth, marriage, and death records
from 1867, divorce and court records from 1848.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Register of Deeds has land records. [2]

History

Parent County

1840--Shiawassee County was created 10 September 1822 from Oakland, and St. Clair Counties and unorganized territory. It was attached to Genesee and Oakland Counties prior to organization 18 March 1837.  County seat: Corunna [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Michigan county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Michigan County Boundary Maps" (1790-1897) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Clinton  • Genesee  • Gratiot  • Ingham  • Livingston  • Saginaw

Shiawassee CountyLivingston CountyMidland CountyIsabella CountyGratiot CountyMontcalm CountyLivingston CountyGenesee CountyLapeer CountyTuscola CountyBay CountySaginaw CountyOakland CountyIngham CountyWashtenaw CountyJackson CountyCalhoun CountyEaton CountyIonia CountyClinton CountyMIShiawassee.JPG


Resources

Biographies

Cemeteries

Census

Federal Census

State Census

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Michigan denominations, view the Michigan Church Records wiki page.

Court

Emigration and Immigration

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Michigan Land and Property for additional information about early Michigan land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Shiawassee County, Michigan Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Michigan Local Histories.

Maps

Mishiawaassee.jpg

Military

Civil War

Civil War service men from Shiawassee County served in various regiments. Men often joined a regiment or a company (within a regiment)that originated in their county. Listed below are the military units that were formed in or had many men from Shiawassee County.

Spanish American War
World War II
Korean War
Vietnam War

Newspapers

  • Argus-Press - full-text digital issues in Google News Archive; covers 1911-2008
Finding More Michigan Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Shiawassee County, Michigan Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

In most counties in Michigan, probate records have been kept by the county judge. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate packets, and dockets. The records are available at the county courthouse.

The FamilySearch Catalog lists films of probate records. To find the records for this county, use the Place Search for Michigan, Shiawassee and search for Probate records in the list.

Note: Not every county in Michigan will have Probate Records in the FamilySearch Catalog.

Online Probate Records

Taxation

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased as shown below:

Birth Records and Death Records from the Michigan Department of Community Health (from 1867) or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Marriage Records (from 1867) and Divorce Records (from 1897) from the County Clerk.

Birth
Marriage
  • 1868-1925 - Michigan Marriage Registrations, 1868-1925 -- Free name indexes at FamilySearch.  Records include such information as names of bride and groom, date of license, ages, race, residences, birthplaces, occupations and names of the fathers of the bride and groom.
Death

Societies and Libraries

Shiawassee County Historical Society
224 Curwood Castle Dr.
Owosso 48867
Website


Family History Centers

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Center for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.


Web Sites

References

  1. Alice Eichholz, Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, Revised ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry, 1992), 369-384. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 1992
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Shiawassee County, Michigan page 350, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).