Shildon, Durham Genealogy
Guide to Shildon, Durham family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Shildon St John Co Durham
|Poor Law Union||Auckland|
|Parish registers: 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Durham (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Durham Record Office|
SHILDON, a township, in the parish of St. Andrew Auckland, union of Auckland, N. W. division of Darlington ward, S. division of the county of Durham, 3½ miles (S. E. by S.) from Bishop-Auckland.
Additional information: Shildon St John was created in 1837 as a parish from chapelry in Auckland St Andrew, Durham Ancient Parish and includes: East Thickerley, East Thicklerley, Middridge, Eldon, and East Thickley.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
The Parish Registers for the period 1834-1960 are deposited at Durham County Record Office, County Hall, Durham, DH1 5UL (EP/Sh).
Non Conformist Churches
- Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
- Primitive Methodist
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist Association
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241352.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Durham Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Shildon (see Auckland St Andrew) on GENUKI
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 11 December 2103.