Shipley cum Heaton, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Shipley cum Heaton, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Shipley cum Heaton, Yorkshire|
|Poor Law Union||North Bierley|
|Parish registers: 1826|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1826|
|Diocese||Pre-1836 - York; Post-1835 - Ripon|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Shipley cum Heaton is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Yorkshire, created in 1828 from Bradford [St Peter] Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: Heaton, Heaton Royds, Shipley Fields, Moorhead, Saltaire, and Moor Head. Church of England denominations identified in Shipley cum Heaton include: Baptist, General Baptist, Methodist, Particular Baptist, Primitive Methodist, Wesleyan Methodist, and Wesleyan Methodist Reform.
SHIPLEY, with Heaton, a district parish, in the parish and union of Bradford, wapentake of Morley,W. riding of York, 3¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Bradford. There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyans.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from parish registers of Shipley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|IARC = Archive.org|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)|
|HATH = HathiTrust.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|SHIPLEY PARISH (1826) Online Records|
||1826-1837, 1846-1847, 1866||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding **Chapelry** and comprising the whole ancient parish of Shipley cum Heaton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the Shipley cum Heaton page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non Conformist Churches
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464257.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
- Samuel A. Lewis, Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 82-85. Date accessed: 17 October 2013.