Shirley, Derbyshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shirley, Derbyshire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Gotoarrow.png Derbyshire Parishes

Guide to Shirley, Derbyshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Shirley, Derbyshire
Shirley St Michael Derbyshire.jpg
Shirley St Michael Derbyshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Appletree
County Derbyshire
Poor Law Union Ashbourne
Registration District Ashbourne
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1663
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cubley
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Derbyshire Record Office

Parish History

SHIRLEY (St. Michael), an Ancient parish, in the hundred of Appletree, S. division of the county of Derby, 4¼ miles (S. E. by S.) from Ashbourn, on the road to Derby; containing the townships of Stydd and Yeaveley. [1]


Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Shirley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have online indexes by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
Shirley St Michael (1663) Parish Online Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1663-1883
Non-Conformist Churches
  • Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
  • Society of Friends/Quaker
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241288.

Poor Law Unions

Ashbourne Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Derbyshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.


Shirley on GENUKI


  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 85-87.3 Date accessed: 13 May 2013.