Shotover, Oxfordshire Genealogy
Guide to Shotover, Oxfordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Headington|
|Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes|
|Rural Deanery||Not Applicable|
|Probate Court||Search the courts of the surrounding parishes|
|Location of Archive|
|Oxfordshire Record Office|
SHOTOVER, an extra-parochial liberty, in the union of Headington, hundred of Bullingdon, county of Oxford, 4¾ miles (E. by N.) from Oxford. 
These parishes are within two miles of this parish:
- Forest Hill (0.96 mi)
- Horspath (1 mi)
- Headington Quarry (1.43 mi)
- Headington (1.93 mi)
- Wheatley (1.94 mi)
- Cowley (1.96 mi)
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Oxfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 90-93. Date accessed: 02 October 2012.