Shrewsbury, Shropshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shrewsbury)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngShrewsbury

A guide to genealogy in Shrewsbury, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; etc.

Shrewsbury is the county town of Shropshire, England. It is a former historic market town and stands on the River Severn, close to the border with Wales.

Historic image of Shrewsbury

Resources

Church records

For information on the ecclesiastical parishes within Shrewsbury see:

Shrewsbury, Shropshire Genealogy All Saints parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[1][2]
Shrewsbury, Shropshire Genealogy All Saints Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Shrewsbury, Shropshire Genealogy St Giles parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Shrewsbury, Shropshire Genealogy St Giles Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

  1. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  2. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.