Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Shrewsbury St George)
Jump to: navigation, search

EnglandGotoarrow.pngShropshireGotoarrow.pngShropshire Parishes

Guide to Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

St. George is an ecclesiastical parish within the town of Shrewsbury in Shropshire, England.

Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Albrighton Division; Ford; Shrewsbury Borough
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Shrewsbury Incorporation
Registration District Shrewsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1837
Bishop's Transcripts: 1841
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shrewsbury
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Parish History

SHREWSBURY, a borough and market - town, having separate jurisdiction, locally in the liberties of Shrewsbury, N. division of Salop, of which it is the chief town, 154 miles (N. W.) from London.[1]

Resources

Civil records

Church records

Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
Shrewsbury St George, Shropshire Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1837-1865 Marr 1837 Bur none

Census records

Probate records

Atlases & Gazetteers

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Shrewsbury/index.html

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 93-104. Adapted. Date accessed: 21 November 2013.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.