Sible Hedingham, Essex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Sible Hedingham, Essex)
Jump to: navigation, search

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes 

Guide to Sible Hedingham, Essex ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Sible Hedingham, Essex
St Peter Sible Hedingham Essex.jpg
St Peter Sible Hedingham Essex
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Hinckford
County Essex
Poor Law Union Halstead
Registration District Halstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1800
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hedingham
Diocese Pre-1846 - London; Post-1845 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Commissary of the Bishop of London (Essex and Hertfordshire Division)
Location of Archive
Essex Record Office

Parish History

Hedingham-Sible or Sible Hedingham, is a village and a parish in Halstead district, Essex. The village stands adjacent to the river Colne and the Colne-Valley railway, near Castle Hedingham railway station, 3¼ miles NW of Halstead; and has a post office under Halstead. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Sible Hedingham, Essex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ESSEX = EssexAncestors - (£)[2]
FSPRs = England, Essex Parish Registers, 1503-1997 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Sible Hedingham, Essex Genealogy Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
ESSEX
1560-2000
1599-1957
1560-1970
FSPRs Undefined
Undefined
Undefined

Online images are available Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office St Peter See also Sible Hedingham Baptist Church

Non-Conformist Churches
  • Independent/Congregational
  • Particular Baptist

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241370.


Poor Law Unions

Halstead Poor Law Union, Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Sible Hedingham on GENUKI

Essex Ancestors - offers images of genealogical records for the county of Essex ($)

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870). Adapted 18 May 2013.
  2. Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 4 September 2014.
  3. 'England, Essex Parish Registers (FamilySearch Historical Records),' FamilySearch, accessed 2 September 2014.