Siddington, Gloucestershire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Siddington, Gloucestershire)
Jump to: navigation, search

England  Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Gotoarrow.png  Gloucestershire Parishes

Guide to Siddington, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Siddington, Gloucestershire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Crowthorne and Minty
County Gloucestershire
Poor Law Union Cirencester
Registration District Cirencester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1687; Separate registers exist for Siddington St Mary beginning 1686
Bishop's Transcripts: 1578
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Cirencester
Diocese Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Gloucestershire Record Office

Parish History

SIDDINGTON (St. Mary and St. Peter), a parish,in the union of Cirencester, hundred of Crowthorne and Minety, E. division of the county of Gloucester,1¾ mile (S. S. E.) from Cirencester. The river Churn and the Thames and Severn canal both intersect the parish, and from the latter a branch diverges at Siddington-lock to Cirencester: the Cheltenham and Great Western railway, and the Cirencester and Wootton Basset road, also pass through. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Siddington St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC = Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials (Ancestry) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Siddington St Mary Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1578-1812 1578-1812 1578-1753 1578-1753 1578-1812 1578-1812
AC 1813-1913 1813-1913 1757-1777, 1813-1938 1757-1777, 1813-1938 1813-1916 1813-1916

Siddington St Peter parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Siddington St Peter Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1578-1812 1578-1812 1578-1753 1578-1753 1578-1812 1578-1812
AC 1813-1867 1813-1867 1754-1938 1754-1938 1842, 1847, 1849 1842, 1847, 1849

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288768.


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 104-107. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
  2. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1538-1813,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  3. 'Gloucestershire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1913,' Ancestry, accessed 14 February 2015.
  4. 'Gloucestershire, England, Marriages, 1754-1938,' Ancestry, accessed 21 June 2016.
  5. 'Gloucestershire, England, Burials, 1813-1988,' Ancestry, accessed 28 June 2016.